Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.

Municipal Heritage Committee


Township of Selwyn
1310 Centre Line
Selwyn, ON
K9J 6X5

Phone: 705 292-9507
or 877 213-7419

The Municipal Heritage Committee's (MHC) mandate is to assist the municipal council in making decisions on any matter relating to the legal designation and conservation of a property of cultural heritage value or interest, as individual properties or as heritage conservation districts.

The MHC determined early on in its mandate that establishing criteria for the evaluation of properties would be a priority. To this end, the MHC has developed a Designation Evaluation Manual complete with a score sheet. The manual is intended to provide an evaluation methodology which is fair, transparent and consistent with the Ontario Heritage Act.

This document is limited in its use to the evaluation of individual properties and is not intended to be used in the evaluation of heritage districts or cultural landscapes. The document introduces the fact that until specific methods have been adopted by the municipality as it relates to the evaluation of heritage districts, we will use provincial guidelines.

The Committee's goal is to encourage heritage building owners to seek designation voluntarily and to work with them through the process in an effort to raise awareness of the benefits of heritage designation.

Lakefield's old Train Station

Designated Heritage Properties:

(Click the link above for more information about these properties)

  • Christ Church and Cemetery
  • 59 Clementi Street
  • 46 Queen Street West
  • 33 Caroline Street
  • The Pavilion
  • Memorial Hall, Lakefield
  • St. Martin's Parish Hall, Ennismore
  • Lakefield Post Office, Lakefield


Committee Members:

2015-2018 Members:

    • Sheryl Smith
    • Brian Fawcett
    • Grant Murphy
    • Joseph (Joe) Latour
    • Steve Gavard
    • Councillor Anita Locke - Council Representative
    • Robert Lamarre - Staff
    • Jamie-Lee Wiltshire - Staff