Browser Compatibility Notification
It appears you are trying to access this site using an outdated browser. As a result, parts of the site may not function properly for you. We recommend updating your browser to its most recent version at your earliest convenience.

Election Information


The next municipal election will be held Monday, October 22, 2018.

For the first time, the Township of Selwyn will offer internet and telephone voting! Eligible electors will be able to vote from a mobile device, computer, telephone, cell phone, iPad, or laptop.  Internet/telephone voting is a convenient option for electors, allowing them to access ballots anytime, anywhere.

Eligible voters will receive a personalized voting instruction package well before Election Day (October 22, 2018) with details on how to vote online or by phone. Electronic voting stations will also be available at the Municipal office during the voting period for public use. 

Voter Lookup Button and link to

Check here to make
sure that you are on
the Voters List!




Nomination Day

Those thinking they have a future career in municipal politics can file nomination papers from May 1, 2018 to July 26, 2018 between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. and on July 27, 2018 from 9:00 a.m. until 2:00 p.m.

To run for the office of Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Councillor or School Board Trustee you must file a nomination paper. 

  • Until you file a nomination paper, you cannot raise or spend any money on your campaign.
  • Candidates running for the position of Mayor, Deputy Mayor or Councillor must now provide, along with their nomination paper, at least 25 endorsement signatures from eligible electors.
  • Nomination Papers and Candidate Guides will be available closer to Nomination Day.

What are the Offices for Selwyn Council?

The Township of Selwyn has a five (5) member Council consisting of:

Election by General Vote:

  • Mayor (1)
  • Deputy Mayor (1)

Election by Ward Electors Only:

  • Councillor (1) Ennismore Ward (Ward 10)
  • Councillor (1) Smith Ward (Ward 20)
  • Councillor (1) Lakefield Ward (Ward 30)

2018-2022 Council Members will serve a term of four (4) years commencing December 1st, 2018 through to November 14th, 2022.  The Mayor and the Deputy Mayor  also serve on the upper tier County of Peterborough Council. Council members are also appointed to various Boards and Committees.

Municipal Election Information:


OESC School Board Elections Button‘Change the Future’ digital poster

What are the Offices for School Board Trustee? 

  • Trustee (1) - Kawartha Pine Ridge District School Board
    Serves the Municipality of Trent Lakes, and the Townships of North Kawartha and Selwyn.
  • Trustee (1) - Peterborough, Northumberland and Clarington Catholic District School Board
    Serves the Municipality of Trent Lakes and the Townships of Asphodel-Norwood, Douro-Dummer, Cavan- Monaghan, Havelock-Belmont-Methuen, Otonabee-South Monaghan, North Kawartha, and Selwyn

Contact Information:

Township of Selwyn 

Mailing Address:

P.O. Box 270,
Bridgenorth, Ontario, K0L 1H0

1310 Centre Line, Smith Ward

Phone: 705-292-9507
Toll Free: 1-877-213-7419

Election Staff

Angela Chittick
Clerk/Returning Officer
705-292-9507, ext. 221
Email Angela

Tania Goncalves
Deputy Returning Officer
705-292-9507, ext. 237
Email Tania

Suzanne Schroeter
Deputy Returning Officer
705-292-9507, ext. 223
Email Suzanne